Jeff Overton DQ

Jeff Overton DQ

  •  

    For using an alignment device on the putting green during a delay.  Another player asked an official if it was legal.

    Of course it was....DQ'd    Dumb and dumber!!

  •  

    Guess he won't be Overton's BFF anytime soon.

  •  

    It is legal to practice, but it is not legal to practice using an aid. The rule is clear and the only penalty is DQ.

  •  

    See rule 14.3 paragraph 10.3, pretty sure that is correct.

  •  

    Rick if you were using your clubs as an alignment aid during a delay would it be a violation?

  •  

    Bruce, that's a tough call. They are not a specific aid,  so it is a gray area.

  •  

    LOL!!  Nice job there genius!!

    • 4201 points
    • Posts: 1202
     

    Yeah and then Overton complains about getting DQ'd.  The official merely told them they could practice.  The rules clearly state that during a round aids are disallowed and the round wasn't suspended or anything.  Common sense says dont do it!

  •  

    my biggest issue with overton, was he tried to deflect blame to the official who told him he could go practice.  he was claiming the official should have told him not to use a putting aid.  it's not the officials job to tell you all of the rules.  he needed to take responsibility for his own actions.

  •  

    tdogg21
    my biggest issue with overton, was he tried to deflect blame to the official who told him he could go practice.  he was claiming the official should have told him not to use a putting aid.  it's not the officials job to tell you all of the rules.  he needed to take responsibility for his own actions.

    He probably thought if TW could blame the marshals .. why couldn't he!