Divots?

Divots?

• 1495 points

Can someone please explain why some people get full divots and others get the "exploding" divots? I tend to get more of the latter type of divots, where as you see the pros and high level players get full chunks of sod for a divot?

•  

Higher swing speeds; steeper approach angles and resulting greater ball compression are the results that you see at the Pro level. Consequently, approach angles are different among every golfer (Pro or Am) so you will both see and experience different divot characteristics - IMHO.

-ICONs for All

•  

I'll take a shot at it, although I'm no expert. . . two things with variations; 1 is the angle of attack whether it's shallow would most likely crumble easily or the steeper angle digs deeper and shaves like a sod.  The other may have to do with the ground consistency where the dryer it is the lesser it holds together, and of course the wet/moist grounds would tend to hold together.  Anyway, any of these combination might explain it.  Of course, all of these combination will vary with how much power was applied to the shot.  It wouldn't matter what condition the fairways are, if it's just too steep an angle of a blow reaches the ground at over 65 mph, every part on the persons body would probably vibrate for a few minutes if the shaft haven't already broken in half. (lol)

How'd I do?

•  

I believe it all has to do with the way the club head moves through the turf. If you hit it "thin" ther will be a small divot because you didnt hit down through the turf enough. If you hit it "fat" you will have a bigger divot because you dug too much into the turf.

You can actuall tell a lot about your swing by the divot you make. You can see the direction the club head was traveling. You can see how far you dug into the turf. Some players can actuall tell if the club head was open or closed by looking at the divot.

•  
    thomas alston iii