My Golfing Journey.

My Golfing Journey.

•  

So I've been playing golf for 22 years and have worked at my game, trying to get better, since day one. Scoring over a hundred when I started and getting down to the 70's the last several years. Five weeks ago, I shot a 71 at Coronado. First time under par on a par 72 course, Yea! Four birdies and an eagle, three bogeys and one double bogey. Had to birdie 18 with a 10 ft. sliding putt. This was great, but the next time I played, it was a disappointing 80. I knew I had to fix my home made swing and it was going to take time and not be easy.

On April 1st, I started with the first big change, flattening my back-swing. For two weeks I hit 150 balls a day with two or three practice swings before a shot, EVERY SHOT WAS A DRILL! No golfing at all during that time. Very hard to change long ingrained swing patterns but progress none the less. Then, while still working on this, I started playing again. I noticed a difference at this time but still needed a lot of work to do. The second week was better and the third even felt better yet. Last week stuff clicked and the swing was feeling really good. I had two 76's that were the easiest I could have shot, just didn't make any putts. But I was striking the ball pretty good for me, very few silly shots.

Today I played at Coronado again, 6:30 tee time, first out. Swing felt good and things went well, two birdies and one bogey on the front for 35. Then I birdied 10, 11, and 12, and two bogeys and another birdie for 34 on the back for a 69! First time in the 60's! Woo Hoo! It was from the white tees where the guys I joined were playing from. It's easier than being the only one playing from the blues. 6,276 yards, 70.1 rating and 117 slope.