Wedges

Wedges

• 4203 points

Bounce. Has anyone been fitted for wedges?

I have been fitted for drivers, irons, and a putter.

I live in Dallas, Tx typical course here has tight, dry fairways. My set consists Gap 52  8 bent to 49 , 56 8, and 60 4. I am curious what everyone else thinks about being fitted for wedges.

•  

i would like to get fitted for my wedges, but there aren't many (if any) places near me that will do it for a reasonable price.  if you can get fitted and try some different options, that is definitely the way to go.

i'm not an expert and it depends on how you use it, but that's not very much bounce on your Gap wedge.  with it bent to 49*, your bounce is down to 5.  most likely, that what you like the best (I do too), but i just read an article where Bob Vokey said virtually all amateurs use too little bounce.  so i'm thinking of trying more bounce on my next wedge.  but if i get fitted, then i would know for sure.

•  

Have not been fitted for Wedges but took a Short Game Clinic yesterday which provided a new perspective on mixing it up a bit more between wedges and low irons....

•  

You should definatrely get fit for wedges. If you can't find a fitter, a least go to www.vokey.com and read as much as you can before you decide what to buy. Da Voke wrote the book on wedges and it is all on the website.

•  

Yes get fitted, makes a huge difference. Wedges are the scoring clubs and don't you want the perfect scoring club for your swing?

•  

I've played before being fit and afterwards (with new wedges) and it makes a WORLD of difference

•  

one thing i haven't been able to find online is proper length.  i went to +1/2 on my irons and love it.  made a huge difference for me.  but what about wedges?  i had read before to not lengthen your wedges (forget where i read that), but i feel like i should to get the most out of them.  anyone have any experience with that?

• 3718 points