Golfers have ridiculous expectations

Golfers have ridiculous expectations

•  

thoughts??  some very interesting stats in this article.  and makes you think about your own game.  

www.golfwrx.com/.../golfers-have-ridiculous-expectations

•  

I read that too, and I have played with guys that have those ridiculous expectations. I try to only be disappointed with shots I don't pull off because of poor concentration. But only if I know that I have that shot in the bag most of the time. I know I'm no touring pro, you have to be realistic with your expectations. Otherwise you are just beating yourself up for no good reason.  

•  

"The Ivy League lawyer I spoke of earlier, well that kind of on-course behavior runs in the family. His father would attempt flop shots (which he was horrible at) from a place where Phil Mickelson would be hard pressed to get the ball within 30 feet. The results were predictable. He would advance the ball 6 feet in front of him from getting too cute, then the second shot would end up 30 feet, which is where it would have ended up with a normal chip, . . . "

The lawyer's friends must fund his morning limo every weekend. (lol)  sorry. . . couldn't help that one.

Anyway, I think the tour guys and tour courses which they play are not the same caliber courses or slope/rating nor the way they approach a green the vast majority weekend players play it in their local course.  I'm just saying that there are many times in the tour that they try to hit a certain location on the green in order to position them selves for a better putt-- their misses are from there and not the pin in those cases. . . unless the pins/holes are in those location that they know they can get close.  One who doesn't have a clue of what the greens might do when they send a shot directly at the flag and ends up 30-40 feet might be some of the case here.

But then I understand what moaners and complainers sound like. . . it does get old quick.

. . . just a thought.

•