Forums

Riding a Golf Cart or Time Bomb

• 1613 points

I know of a cart that its' battery recenty exploded. Lucky no one was injured. It got me to thinking about the proper care of batteries on golf carts, and with question how much attention is really given to the carts. Other than clean them up, drive them on a cart barn, and hook them to a charger.

My experience says that can be dangerous, but of course I am not an expert. Also I know golf cart companies will not release any information that could hurt their business. Example I knew one golf cart company that had defective bag straps for years. Then one year I was at a tournament that they were hosting. I met three of the executives, and told them I knew of a problem with their carts that I wanted to make them aware. They were happy to hear suggestions, and I explained that a high percentage of their bag straps were defective. They laughed and said they were aware of that for years, and started walking away. I stopped them and ask... "what about the damage done to the golfers clubs has they bang off the cart path?" They looked like a deer caught in the headlights, and asked did it happen to my clubs. Of course they had.. anyway shorten the story they replaced or repaired my club three different times, never with any arguement.

The reason golfers had not complained they always thought it was an accident, and the course management would often explain that "they", the golfer, must not have proper latched the strap. I had discussed this with one of the head pros' once and like the executives he knew about the problem.. it had happened to him several times. I asked why then didn't he warn the golfers at his club, and they could have hooked a small bungy cord, like a safety clasp. That way if they bag strap did not hold the bags would not fall off the cart.

The company decided it was time to correct the problem, and I have never seen it happen again., sometimes simple awareness helps.