Forums

Community Only : FJ Make Every Day Playable Sweepstakes!

•  

Welcome to the board Bro.  Glad to hear you mentor, coach and friend is doing well.  Horrible to hear about bad accidents, but also glad to know he is doing better.

• 203 points

For 8 years i was a high school golf coach in Southern California. Recent changes have found my new home in south Florida. over the years, I've been blessed to have had many high quality girls on my team, both as golfers and more importantly as people despite the number of players. But because the team size has been especially small the last couple of years, by seasons-end, we typically find (feel) ourselves to be much more than a 'coach and his team'--it's like we have become a family. Because i was leaving the school, the state and the girls, they decided to surprise me and give me a great going-away gift. They all met at the 9-hole facility where i teach junior golf classes and we all played a round of golf...all together! It was amazing to watch them in a non-competitive situation, laughing and kidding around on each hole with one-another. Despite the fun-natured round it was, they all still made sure they repaired ball marks, never played out of turn, raked bunkers, etc. A nice testament to see that they, by habit, still respected their peers and the golf course. As darkness began to fall, it became more difficult to watch the flight of our golf balls and apparent that we would struggle to complete our final round as a 'team'. One of the girls suddenly remembered a drill i had had them do where we would just use our 'putters' to play a hole. So that's what we did! We grabbed our flat-sticks and played away. It was awesome as a coach to witness the smiles, the camaraderie between the girls and the sheer sense of satisfaction. Of course, there were plenty of 'thank you's' and 'we'll miss you's' afterwards. Fortunately, I the sadness of our departure will be replaced by the fond memories we will all share for a lifeti