Forums

THE COST OF GOLF BALLS

•  

THE NEW PRO V'S ARE OUT!  GREAT....I LOVE THE BALL!  BUT THE PRICE OF THE PRO V AND OTHER PREMIUM BALLS HAS BECOME AN ISSUE WITH ME.  I THINK THIS YEAR WILL BE THE FIRST YEAR I WILL REGULARLY PLAY A BALL THAT IS NOT A PREMIUM BALL.  LAST YEAR I SOMETIMES PLAYED THE NXT TOUR S AND THE CALLAWAY DIABLO TOUR BALL.  I FOUND THEM BOTH TO BE QUITE ACCEPTABLE.  OUR GRAANS HERE IN WESTERN PA ARE GENERALLY PRETTY CONDUSIVE TO HOLDING A SHOT AND I HONESTLY DID NOT SEE MUCH DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE PRO V1 AND THE OTHER BALLS MENTIONED.  

WITH THE COST OF EVERYTHING RISING, THE EVER INCREASING COST OF THE PREMIUM BALL, THE FACT THAT I AM NOT A PRO WHO NEEDS TO SPIN THE BALL BACK ON A HARD GREEN, AND MY POSITIVE  EXPERIENCE WITH 2ND TIER BALLS,  IT IS TIME FOR ME TO MAKE THE CHANGE.

ANYBODY ELSE FEEL THE SAME WAY?

•  

i agree with you.  i'm not against using a lesser ball.  especially if it helps me afford something else.  and with prices of everything going up, the golf budget only goes so far.  maybe someday i won't have to worry about it and just buy what i want, but until then, i have to make sacrifices and compromises.

• 3627 points

It's certainly gotten difficult justifying $50/dozen for golf balls. I usually switch to "2nd tier" balls...for example NXT Tours... for casual after work rounds and the like...but I still play with ProV's when it counts.

•  

Full agree with we, for my golf level I'm thinking even NXT Tour (the one I use) is too much.

• 5025 points

I am with you Bruce - $48 or $50 a dozen is steep! I am somewhat fortunate in that I play a fair amount of corporate-related golf and most events toss a few sleeves of high end balls into the deal. But I suspect even the sponsors of these events will balk at the rates for purchase...Besides, the NXT Tour is a great golf ball - by any measure..

• 627 points

$50 a dozen is more than the cost of most of my rounds on the courses that I play.

•